Datuk Ahiruddin Attan was returned unopposed as National Press Club president recently for a second term at the club’s annual general meeting recently.
The executive director for Petra News gained reputation for his Rocky’s Bru blog following his tour of duty with various media publications as journalist and editor.

“There are several plans which we are working towards for the year,” he told portal The Vibes.

The Press Club, otherwise known as NPC, may not be the oldest club in the country, but remains the leading venue for fraternity members to voice media rights and welfare.

“Despite 2020 being a tough year, we were able to contribute more than RM165,000 worth of financial aid and medical support to 138 members, media personnel, veteran and retired journalists, as well as their next of kin.

“Our priority this year is to revive the NPC Press Awards to recognise the sacrifices, dedication and hard work of newsmen during the Covid-19 pandemic.”

The National Press Club Malaysia 2021/23 executive committee also includes;

Adviser: Datuk Mokhtar Hussain
Trustees: Datuk Yong Soo Heong, Datuk Nuraina Abdul Samad and Tony Emmanuel Esq
Deputy President: Haresh Deol, vice-president: Murhayani Othman
Honorary Secretary: Zaidi Azmi, assistant secretary: Ismail Rashid
Treasurer: K. Sivanesan, Assistant Treasurer: L. Jaiarajoo
Committee members: Pearl Lee, Zaharin Mat Noor, S.P. Mani, Farrah Naz Karim, Sharanjit Singh, T. Ananthan, Tony Mariadass, Joseph Fernando
Internal auditors: Veera Pandiyan, Graig Martyn Nunis

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here