Datuk Ahirudin Attan retained his position as the National Club of Malaysia (NPC) president following the club’s Annual General Meeting cum election for the 2023-2025 term on March 31, 2023.

Twentytwo13 editor, Haresh Deol also retained his position as NPC deputy president, while New Straits Times group editor Farrah Naz Karim was elected as the vice president.

Ahirudin, a veteran newsman, thanked NPC members for their continued support.

He is optimistic of the club carrying out more activities throughout the year, including during the annual National Journalists’ Day (HAWANA) scheduled from May 27 to 29 in Ipoh, Perak.

“It has been a challenging time not only for the NPC but also everyone else. However, I believe that the worst is over as we now look forward towards better days and more activities for the members,” said Ahirudin.

Zaidi Azmi, a journalist with Sinar Daily, was retained as secretary while the assistant secretary is Twentytwo13 managing editor, Pearl Lee.

NST executive editor Sharanjit Singh kept his position as treasurer and B.Jaikumaran of Makkal Ossai was appointed assistant treasurer.

The eight council members represent various media organisations, from the national news agency, accredited news websites, radio and a vernacular daily.

NPC office bearers for the 2023-2025 term

President: Datuk Ahirudin Attan (The Vibes)

Deputy president: Haresh Deol (Twentytwo13)

Vice president: Farrah Naz Karim (New Straits Times)

Secretary: Zaidi Azmi (Sinar Daily)

Assistant secretary: Pearl Lee (Twentytwo13)

Treasurer: Sharanjit Singh (New Straits Times)

Assistant treasurer: B. Jaikumaran (Makkal Ossai)

Committee members:

Graig Nunis (Twentytwo13)

Haris Hussain (Twentytwo13)

Ramani a/l Parkunan (Asia News Today)

Savantharaja Naidu a/l Luchimanan (Makkal Ossai)

Ismail Abd Rashid (Bernama)

Abdul Rahmat Omar Mohamed Haniff (The Mole)

Faizul Azim Mohd Saiful Adil (New Straits Times)

Muhammad Haziq Hamid (Astro Radio)



Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here