KUALA LUMPUR : Former Bernama editor-in-chief Datuk Yong Soo Heong and New Straits Times group editor Farrah Naz Abd Karim join senior media executives on the Bernama Supervisory Council.

Farrah Naz said she was humbled and honoured by the appointment to the council that is headed by Kuala Lumpur High Court judge Datuk Muhammad Jamil Hussin.

Meanwhile, former adviser of The Star media group Datuk Seri Wong Chun Wai is the new Bernama chairman.

Wong, 62, takes over from Datuk Ras Adiba Radzi.

He was previously a member of the Bernama Board of Governors from 2004 to 2010 and the Bernama Supervisory Council from 2010 to 2014.

The appointments were announced by Communication and Digital Minister Fahmi Fadzil.

The following is the list of members of Bernama Supervisory Council and Bernama Board of Governors.

1. Bernama Supervisory Council

Kuala Lumpur High Court judge Datuk Muhammad Jamil Hussin

Representative of the Malaysian government:
Communications and Digital Ministry secretary-general Datuk Mohamad Fauzi Md Isa

Representative of Malaysian newspapers:
New Straits Times group editor Farrah Naz Abd Karim

Representative of vice-chancellors of universities in Malaysia:
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Vice-Chancellor Datuk Professor Dr Mohd Ekhwan Toriman

Additional Member:
Former Bernama general manager Datuk Yong Soo Heong

2. Bernama Board of Governors

Datuk Seri Wong Chun Wai

Members representing the government:
Communications and Digital Ministry deputy secretary-general (strategic communications and creative industry) Mastura Ahmad Mustafa; Broadcasting Department director-general Datuk Suhaimi Sulaiman; Information Department director-general Datuk Mohd Sukari Ab Hamid; Finance Ministry head of development and procurement section, remuneration policy and management division, Natrah Mohd Zahari; Foreign Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Amran Mohamed Zin; and, Universiti Teknologi Mara Communication and Media Studies Faculty dean Associate Professor Dr Abd Rasid Abd Rahman

Members representing newspapers:
New Straits Times Press group managing editor Datuk Ahmad Zaini Kamaruzzaman; Star Media Group deputy executive editor Mergawati Zul Fakar; Sin Chew Daily editor-in-chief Kuik Cheng Kang; Sinar Harian chief executive officer Farah Hussamuddin; Borneo Post editor-in-chief Phyllis Wong Yang Yong; and, Daily Express chief editor Datuk Sardahthisa James. Bernama

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here